ICT is Blowing my Mind!

Hi Bloggers,

OMG what a week!? It has been daunting and stressful but at the same time it has been wonderful! I have absolutely loved the blogs that I have read so far, I would like to take this opportunity to tell everyone to keep up the great work. Anyway, back to my point, I have opened my eyes to the world of ICT, specifically ICT in the classroom.

In my never ending compulsion to constantly find out more information, I have branched to different websites to view the thoughts and viewpoints of others regarding ICT in the classroom. I have come across a TED talk video, which is presented by Raj Dhingra and he provides fantastic insights into this very mixed-opinionated topic. An excellent quote that I have taken from Raj during his presentation is “If you change the thinking, you can change the solution” (Dhingra, 2012).  This kept swirling around my thoughts and I couldn’t seem to stop analysing this statement. I have come to the conclusion that some educators must change their thinking of viewing students as ’empty vessels’ and just teaching them specific information. Raj explains that technology allows for student centric learning which in turn, customises their learning experience, allows for better student collaboration and achieves higher student engagement (Dhinga, 2012). I completely agree with his ideas and I would love to know your thoughts about this topic! What do you all think? Do you agree/disagree?

If you would like to watch the TED talk video, this is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0s_M6xKxNc

Another page that I found to blow my mind is a blog written by Kynan Robinson. He has worked closely with a father named Adam Scanlon who has an autistic son.  He allows his son to play the Disney Infinity game and has designed this to help his son with his condition. Robinson (2015) then follows to describe how gaming in education can be extremely beneficial. He states that it can be entirely the imagination of the player, it allows for student interaction, it gives students a voice and ownership, provides children with autonomy, gives them a sense of routine and it also allows for self-direction (Robinson, 2015). I never knew how beneficial technology can become for all students! It really maximises opportunities to learn and in a really unique way.

I hope you have found this post as interesting as I have. Please feel free to comment your thoughts and opinions! I would love to hear what you think.

Thank you for reading!

Brendan

References:

Dhingra, R. (2012). Can technology change education? Yes!. Retrieved March 5, 2015, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0s_M6xKxNc

Robinson, K. (2015). Using digital gaming with special needs learning. Retrieved March 5, 2015, from http://kynanrobinson.com/2015/02/27/using-digital-gaming-with-special-needs-learning/

Leave a Reply

