River Deep, Mountain High!

Hi Everyone,

Okay, I am a big believer of going ‘green’, and I am not talking about going green relating to the Hulk (I just watched the latest Avengers by the way, it was epic!! #MustSee). I am talking about our carbon footprint!

Ever since I have left school, I have tried my best to save paper. I have literally completed my whole university degree so far from my computer. Not only is it much easier for me to type notes, keep everything saved and highlight/bold important information, I am saving so much paper and trees at the same time! Maybe I should become a superhero on the side of my university work?

Marianne has also converted to the digital world of university this year. She states

“My book usage decreased to zero, and I have adapted to saving all of my modules onto my Mac book and can easily access them for assignments etc. So I have now fully adapted to using ICT and using zero paper.”

This is awesome work Marianne!! I’m am really proud of your effort to go green!!

Lily and Tayla have also written about this modern day issue, but have related their blogs to achieving a paperless classroom. If you haven’t read it, you should definitely check it out! I hope to one day try and achieve a ‘paperless classroom’.

Lily recounts what her mentor would do on her professional experience. She states that

“On Practical experience, my teacher would sometimes have a worksheet shown on the overhead projector and the students would write the answers down into their books. This method enabled her to save paper on worksheets”

Tayla has also commented on her thoughts on teachers using projectors and computer to cut down on worksheets and handouts. She states:

“While classrooms may not become completely paperless, using this approach is sure to cut down on excessive paper while allow students to create more dynamic records of their work, research and ideas.”

This is a great YouTube video that demonstrates how you can reduce your carbon footprint – I think it is worth the two minutes.

What are your thoughts? Do you agree with going green? Or, do you believe in a more traditional, worksheet pedagogy?

I would love to hear from you.

Regards,

Brendan

References:

Ricketts, C. (2011). Climate Change [Image]. Retrieved March 2nd, 2015, from http://www.earthtimes.org/encyclopaedia/environmental-issues/climate-change/

Leave a Reply

