Daily Archives: May 9, 2015

QR Codes!!

Hi Everyone,

I was searching through a few of my followers blogs and I came across Tayla’s blog in which she writes about QR codes. If you aren’t sure what QR codes are, they are a square of black and white pixels – you may have seen them on the side of some products that you have previously bought.

These QR codes can be scanned through an app on your phone in which they will automatically link you to a certain website – pretty cool stuff.

If you would like to know a little bit more about them, please view the following YouTube video.

BBC Active have reported on QR codes within education. They have found that:

  • A maths teacher is adding QR codes to her printed worksheets to give students access to the solutions at home.

  • A modern foreign languages teacher uses QR codes to give access to GCSE listening papers. She prints them out on stickers and asks students to stick them into their planners for homework.

  • A head teacher has decided to put QR codes around the school for parents to access information about each department on information evenings.

  • A year 5 teacher encourages pupils’ enquiry skills by ‘posting’ QR clues around the classroom in the context of a research project on the daily life of British children during the Second World War.

  • A science teacher films all of her practical experiments. She uploads the videos to the school’s virtual learning environment. Each video is archived and displayed as a QR code on the wall of the science lab for reference by students and other teachers.

  • A librarian has developed an ingenious use for QR codes. He sticks a QR code on books that have been reviewed as a podcast by volunteer students. Once scanned, the code will take you directly to the podcast.

This is really great! Would you have thought about using QR codes within your classroom? This report is really great reading, if you would like to read the whole thing – please read the following link.

The QR code that I have used as my featured image is the QR code for a college in England named “Harrow House”. If you scan this QR code, it will take you directly to their website.

Thanks,

Brendan

Reference:

BBC Active. (2010). QR Codes in Education. Retrieved May 9, 2015, from http://www.bbcactive.com/BBCActiveIdeasandResources/QRcodesineducation.aspx 

Harrow House. (2015). QR Code. Retrieved May 9, 2015, from http://www.harrowhouse.com/Default.aspx?pagename=QR-Code-for-Harrow-House

I’m Connected.ed #Finally

Hi Everyone,

I am on the catch up, once again! I am usually hyper organised with all of my required work, and it is almost always done by the end of the week. However the past two weeks have had me shaking in my boots! I have had three assignments due within the past week and a half, work related shifts and meetings and to top it off, I have been away at the coast for the long weekend (it seemed like such a great idea last week, now, not so much). So, my assignments quite quickly became my main priority, pushing back everything else. So, here goes!

But I will have you know, I AM FINALLY UP TO DATE AND CONNECT.ED!!

I bit the bullet, sat down and worked through everything that I had to complete before going on prac – which will be another instance in which my normal work gets pushed back for next week. I finally have completed all learning path activities for ICT and have also completed the Connect.ed modules #HappyDance.

I was quite surprised to be honest. when completing the simulations within the Connect.ed modules, it very quickly took me back to late primary school when MSN became the new craze. With some impulsivity and peer pressure, I joined the band wagon and signed up for an MSN account. Now, this may have seemed like a great thing at the time, however the more I used it, the more I was exposed to cyber bullying from other peers within my class. I de-activitated my account quicker than when I signed up, the community of pre-adolescent, twelve year olds was definitely not for me. And, it was quite a good thing – because all those who were ‘leading’ the pack of cyber bullies got quite harsh punishments – it definitely paid off for doing the smart thing.

Now, a few of you may be saying – where is he going with this? But, if you have completed the Connect.ed modules, you will find that the simulations are reality for most teenagers and have experienced something like this within their lives – either at school or within the open, virtual world.

Something that surprised me when completing the modules were the statistics of age groups using different forms of ICT. According to Cyber Smart, they have found that:

“Nearly half a millions teens went online with their mobiles in June 2013 – and that number is increasing every year.”

For #Gensmartphone, they are at a much larger risk of cyber bullying than when I was at school – I only had to worry about my contacts within MSN, for the short time I did have it. However, Cyber Smart have stated that

“42% of teenager use a form of social networking”

This is a major factor that we as future teachers must be aware of. We need to start educating children on cyber safety to ensure their futures are not impacted on – as they say, once it is on the internet, it never goes away.

You should also check out some of my peers blogs! BrittanyTegan and Jessica  have blogged about this issue and provide excellent insights.

Here are some websites that we can use to educate children – maybe on professional experience? Your mentor may think it is just as important.

http://www.cybersmart.gov.au/

http://www.education.vic.gov.au/about/programs/bullystoppers/Pages/advicecybersafe.aspx

https://www.staysmartonline.gov.au/

http://www.cybersafetysolutions.com.au/for-parents.shtml

I hope you think cyber safety is such an important issues that we must be teaching our students!

Thanks very much,

Brendan